Symposium 2016

May 12th, 2016 ~ George W. Bush Presidential Center, on the campus of SMU ~ Dallas, Texas

[slideshow gallery_id=”4″]

The TEC is excited to announce this year’s symposium will again be hosted at the George W. Bush Institute on the campus of SMU in Dallas. Building on the success of last two symposiums, the Council is working with leaders in industry, government and education to continue the proud tradition of the Energy Sector in education.

2016 Symposium Agenda

Download the 2016 Agenda



8:30 am Registration / Coffee / Continental Breakfast
9:00 am Welcome
Gary Stone, P.E. TEC President,Vice President of Engineering at Five States Energy Capital
9:10 am Opening Speaker
“What’s On The Horizon”
 Scott Potter  Director- RBN Energy, Houston
9:45 am Panel 1: How We Got Here
 Moderator: Dr. Ken Morgan Director- TCU Energy Institute, Ft. Worth
 Panelists: Dr. Bernard “Bud” Weinstein Fellow- The Maguire Energy Institute & The John Tower Institute of SMU, Dallas
Steve Pruett CEO- Elevation Resources, Midland
Rob Clarke Manager- Unconventional Oil & Gas- Wood Mackenzie, Dallas
Raoul LeBlanc Managing Director- IHS, Houston
10:50 am Panel 2: The Market Forces at Play
 Moderator: Dr. Bruce Bullock Director- The Maguire Energy Institute of SMU, Dallas
 Panelists: Dr. Bob Skinner Executive Fellow- The University of Calgary, Calgary
Royce Poinsett Sr. Attorney- Gardere Wynne Sewell LLP, Austin
Jody Allred Partner- Weaver Tidwell, Ft. Worth
 Scott Richardson  Co-founding Principal- RBC Richardson Barr, Houston
 Michael Mears  CEO- Magellan Midstream Partners, Tulsa
11:45 am Luncheon and Keynote Address
“The Energy Race”
 The Hon. Ryan Sitton  Commissioner- The Railroad Commission of Texas, Austin
1:30 pm Panel 3: Exporting America
 Moderator: Dr. Ed Ireland Director- The Barnett Shale Energy Education Council/ Professor-The Neeley School of Business of TCU, Ft. Worth
 Panelists: Dianna Sommer Regional Resource Authority- BP, London/Moscow
Anastasia Shcherbakova Director of Energy Management Program- Jindal School of Management at UT-D, Richardson
Lynne Taschner Economist & Energy Planning Advisor- ExxonMobil, Irving
Billy Ray Smith North American Technology Director- Halliburton Houston
2:20 pm Afternoon Speaker: “The Legacy of DeGolyer & MacNaughton”
Charles F. Boyette  President – DeGolyer & MacNaughton, Dallas
 3:15 pm Ethics in the Marketplace  (Eligible for CPE credit for Law, Engineering, Land, Geology)
 Speaker: Millie Bradley Former Chief Auditor, ExxonMobil, Irving
4:30 – 6:00 pm Sponsor Reception– Café 43

May 12, 2016 — George W. Bush Presidential Center on the campus of SMU
Texas Energy Council – “Professional Societies United to Educate”
P. O. Box 600466, Dallas, Texas 75360-0466